Better Off Ted   Leave a comment

Okay, I should say something about Better Off Ted. I’ve seen two episodes now. The first episode I watched it and said that I wanted to enjoy it, but for some reason…for some reason I just wasn’t liking what I was seeing.

It had all the elements that I like. It had all the snarky dialogue, it had well presented ideas, and it even had a huge, gigantic Mad Scientist theme that I’m always in favor of. So why wasn’t I liking it?

At this second episode I think I figured it out. This is a show that has everything I like. It’s like someone took Pushing Daisies, Scrubs and Portal and stuck ’em in a blender.

Now, is this a good thing or a bad thing? Hard to say. The two episodes I’ve seen both followed a pretty basic plot of “Here’s something that management did that caused wackiness, and here’s how we solved the problem” formula. I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing. It’s a show that’s more about dialogue than actual plot. The characters are all flatter than I like, but between the fact that this is the show’s first season and the fact that it’s set up in a cold, business environment designed to make flat personalities a joke might make this unavoidable.

I think the best thing I can say about the show is that I can’t find fault with it. It’s got okay acting, okay dialogue and okay ideas. Every once in a while it comes off as feeling like a lame Saturday Night Live sketch, but those times when it comes off as a good SNL sketch instead make it okay.

So I plan on watching this more when there’s nothing else on. It didn’t necessarily dissapoint. And hey, maybe in time it’ll become as good as Scrubs or Pushing Daisies. That’d be nice.

…but I still say that they need to bring back Pushing Daisies.

Leave a Reply

