Gen-Con 2014 Preview: A-Networkin’ We Go   Leave a comment

Well, it’s the middle of August and that means that it’s time to start heading to Gen-Con.  Gen-Con is touted as “the best four days in gaming”, and honestly I think that’s more than just marketing hyperbole.  Also, Gen-Con is home to the aptly named Gen-Con Writer’s Symposium, one of the best symposiums for writers in the Midwest.  As a gamer and a writer, I’m naturally very interested.

If you’ve never been to Gen-Con before, it’s hard to explain what it’s like.  My recommendation is that you go with at least one purpose in mind; the entire situation is likely to be bewildering if you just decide to go in and wander about.  Instead, if you focus yourself around finding that one writer or artist you like, or going to all the seminars about a certain topic, or even just for saying “I want to play demos of all of the cool board games that’ll be released next year”, then you’re likely to have more fun.  More to the point, the things that you go for will be more fun amid all the cool things that you discover between the cracks.

I’ve gone for networking purposes in the past with minor degrees of success.  This year I actually have a business card to hand out, a card that will link people to my new sci-fi story, Three Virellium Coins (shameless plug!).  My hope is that I’ll be able to attract a bit more of an audience, though so far I’m already happy with the more or less steady viewings I’m getting.

Also, for those not familiar with Gen-Con, it’s worth noting that every year there’s a big dance that has a theme for the cosplayers.  The theme’s totally optional, of course, and some people cosplay as different things entirely.  This year’s theme is The Eighties, which was kind of a let-down, but also gives a lot to work with (you’ll be on-theme with Ninja Turtles, Mario Brothers, Marty McFly, lots of things.)  I’m a big fan of the dances, but if that kind of thing isn’t for you then there’s always plenty of alternate plans.

Anyway, not much to say with this post.  I likely won’t be posting much from the convention itself, but we’ll see what I can manage.

Oh, by the way, take a look at my business cards:

KOALA - WIN_20140813_000728

Posted August 13, 2014 by John Little in blogging

Leave a Reply

