So I Finally… Watched Baby Doll   Leave a comment

Baby Doll

So, I finally watched an episode of the Batman Animated Series that a lot of people have recommended as being one of the best of the bunch.  From random friends in real life to the perpetually cantankerous-but-delightful reviews of Doug Walker’s Nostalgia Critic, Baby Doll is met with a lot of praise.  And, in truth, I’d seen the very end of this episode ages ago, and it seemed dark and poignant and surreal in all the ways that the Batman Animated Series does when it’s at its best.

It was strange seeing the episode play out, though.  I was happy to see Paul Dini’s name in the opening credits, but after that the episode twisted and felt a bit generic.  I honestly think it’s because I knew where it was going.  The ‘punchline’, as it were.

The odd part, though?  As I reached the part of the episode I’d already seen… the episode suddenly got better.  I have to wonder if that scene was the moment that the rest of the episode was built around.  It’s a beautiful ending in a lot of ways, but the build up to it just didn’t quite seem to match.

So… everyone’s hype ruined everything, except the most hypable moment? Possible, but rare.  Ultimately, though, I did enjoy the episode, and understand why it keeps winding up on everyone’s Top Ten lists.

In other news: Gen-Con 2015 sent me through a wringer that’s made it tough to get back into the swing of things (I haven’t even done a post-Gen-Con report.  Almost seems too late at this point, despite having a fun picture to use for it.)  Also, the place where I usually record my So I Finally videos on Youtube has been uncharacteristically busy of late, and as such I’ve not been filming them.  Just when I thought I was getting the hang of YouTube, too.

Anyway, thanks for stopping by, and I’ll let you know the next time I have a magical monday, or the next time I finally see something new, or just the next time I have somethin’ to talk about.  Later!

Leave a Reply

