Indie Gamer Groups   Leave a comment

Weird thought: how many Indie Games exist because of the popularity of Indie Games?

I mean, naturally, it feels like that should happen.  People realize that they don’t need to be part of a big video game organization to make video games, and set out to make their own, so sure, there’d be more games.

But on the other hand? I sometimes feel like some Indie Games are meant specifically to hit the Indie Game niche.  I’ve never quite seen an Indie Game that appeared to be made exclusively for being watched by YouTube streamers… but the thought isn’t too unrealistic.

Let’s be honest: there are many more people who have watched Markiplier play Five Nights At Freddy’s than there are people who have themselves purchased and played them.

And this isn’t a bad thing, or even something unprecedented.  Take languages, for instance: the US Military has an accent that’s unique.  Nowhere in the rest of the United States does that “vaguely southern, drill-sergeant drawl” appear.  The military is so large that it can act as its own society with its own method of speaking.  Now, THAT’S worth talking about.  I’m not a linguist, though.

Anyway… I’ve discovered Itch.Io and the kind of games that can be found there, and these were just thoughts that came to mind as I saw that the majority of comments on the site were from people who were posting links to themselves playing Let’s Play videos.  I have to admit that I’m guilty of that as well.

On the other hand, I totally would have played Cat Nigiri’s Keen even if I wasn’t making Let’s Play videos.  It’s just a great game, and I’m positive that it would’ve existed on its own.

I guess my fear is that indie games may become the next Web or Wild West; it’s still a mostly unsettled frontier, but I can also see it being latched onto by corporations.  Removing the Indie from Indie Games might not kill them per se, but I can see it changing the market.

Posted December 12, 2016 by John Little in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

